Illinois Drivers License Reinstatement | Revoked License Illinois
At The Davis Law Group, P.C., we receive a lot of questions from people who want to know how to get their revoked license reinstated in Illinois, so we’ve developed this FAQ page. If you don’t see your question answered here or you need legal representation, please contact us to schedule a consultation with one of our drivers license reinstatement lawyers.
- Can You Get Your Revoke License Reinstated?
- How to Get Your Revoked License Reinstated
- How Long Does it Take to Get My License Back After a DUI?
- Can I Reinstate My Illinois Driver’s License Online?
- What Is the Difference Between a Formal and Informal Hearing?
- How to Get License Reinstated After Multiple Moving Violations or Other Non-DUI Offenses
- How to Get Your License Back After a Suspension
- What is the Difference Between a Formal and Informal Hearing
- How Do I Prove That I Am Not a Risk to the Public Safety?
- What Are the Different Risk Classifications?
- What Do I Do if I Was Never Required by the Court to Complete Treatment for My DUI or I Was Unable to Complete Treatment?
- Why Could the Secretary of State Deny Me Driving Relief?
- How Long Does It Take To Get a Hearing and a Decision on My Application?
- I Had My Formal Hearing and I Am Waiting for a Decision. I Need to Be Able to Drive Now. Can I Get Temporary Driving Privileges?
- After I Am Granted Driving Privileges, How Long Will It Take To Receive My Permit?
- Will I Need to Take All of the Tests Before My Driver’s License or Driving Permit Will Be Issued?
- Do I Need to Purchase SR-22 Insurance?
- Will I Get My Full License Back or Do I Have to Drive on a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) First?
- Will I Have to Have a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device ('BAIID') Installed on My Vehicle?
- How Long Will I Need to Have a BAIID in My Car?
- If I Drive a Vehicle Owned or Leased by My Employer, Do I Still Have to Have a BAIID Device Installed?
- Can I Put My BAIID in Someone Else’s Car?
- Can Other People Drive the Car With My BAIID?
- Do I Need to Have a Lawyer Represent Me?
- How Much Will It Cost to Have an Attorney Represent Me?
- If I Have Already Had a Hearing and Have Been Denied, Can a Lawyer Still Help Me?
- Where Will My Hearing Be Held?
Can You Get Your Revoked License Reinstated?
Yes, it’s possible, but you’ll need to comply with certain requirements.
Driver’s licenses are revoked for a wide range of reasons, including but not limited to:
- A DUI conviction;
- Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in death or personal injury;
- Drag racing/Street racing;
- Aggravated fleeing and eluding a police officer involving speeding 21 miles per hour or more over the limit, property damage of $300.00 or more; disobedience of two or more traffic control devices;
- Two convictions for illegal transportation of open liquor where the person is under age 21;
- Any felony involving the use of a motor vehicle.
Note: This is only a partial list of offenses that may cause a suspension or revocation.
For example, if you lost driving privileges after a DUI conviction, you must do the following to get your revoked license reinstated:
- Maintain a clean driving record by not driving illegally
- Undergo a drug and alcohol evaluation
- Participate in a remedial education program and/or treatment for substance abuse
- Provide proof of economic responsibility
- Meet with the hearing officers of the Secretary of State's office
- Pay an application fee along with the driver’s license reinstatement fees ($500)
- Pay a $50 filing fee if you are required to have a formal reinstatement hearing or, if eligible, a no fee informal hearing
- Appear before a hearing officer with the required documentation and receive a favorable decision
- File proof of financial responsibility
- Pass a driving test, a written exam, and a vision test
How Do You Get Your Revoked License Reinstated?
A revocation is the indefinite loss of driving privileges. There is no ‘automatic’ reinstatement even after the period of revocation ends. Instead, a person becomes 'eligible' for reinstatement and cannot drive until first appearing at a hearing before the Secretary of State and being granted driving privileges.
When the Secretary of State grants you reinstatement or a restricted driving permit, your privileges will be fully or partially restored.
The Illinois Secretary of State conducts two types of license reinstatement hearings: formal and informal. You may have an informal or formal hearing if you have only been arrested for DUI once.
Generally, formal hearings are required when:
- The person has more than one DUI disposition including a prior supervision, suspension, revocation or reckless driving reduced from DUI.
- The basis for the revocation is an offense involving a death.
- The person is seeking a modification or rescission of an order of revocation or suspension.
- The person has had a Monitored Device Driving Permit (MDDP) canceled and now wishes to be considered for issuance of a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP)
All informal hearings are held on a first-come, first-served basis, and there is no need to make an appointment in advance. Only you, your lawyer (if you hire one), and the hearing officer need to be present. Although it may take a few months, you will eventually receive a letter granting or denying you driving privileges. The letter will also explain the reason for the decision if you are denied privileges. If you are denied at an informal hearing, you can’t appeal it, but you can have another hearing 30 days later or you can request a formal hearing.
In the case of formal hearings, following receipt of the request, the Secretary of State will provide written notice of the date and time of the hearing either by regular mail or email. These proceedings, which are recorded, are also attended by an attorney for the Secretary of State, and the decision takes the form of a detailed order. You have the right to appeal the decision to the circuit court or seek another formal hearing once every three months.
The rules of the Secretary of State’s office are complicated and a high percentage of applications are denied.
It is strongly recommended that anyone seeking to obtain driving privileges after a revocation, particularly for DUI, contact a license restoration attorney.
The Secretary of State will not grant any driving privileges unless and until it is satisfied that you are not a risk to the public safety and, in many cases, that an 'undue hardship' has resulted from the loss of license.
The burden of demonstrating this is on you at the time of the hearing. In other words, the Secretary of State does not have to prove that you are a risk; rather you must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the State that you are not a risk. This is an extremely difficult burden for most people to meet, particularly those who have been arrested for multiple offenses or more serious offenses.
The minimum period of revocation (before a person becomes eligible to be considered for reinstatement) can depend on such factors as the nature of the offense that caused the revocation and the person's past driving record.How Long Does It Take to Get Your License Reinstated After a DUI?
The minimum length of revocation depends on the number of DUI convictions on your Illinois driving record:
- One DUI conviction will result in a minimum one-year revocation.
- Two DUI convictions will result in a minimum five-year revocation if the offenses occurred within a 20-year period. If the offenses occurred outside of a 20-year period, a minimum one-year revocation will be imposed.
- Three DUI convictions, regardless of when they occurred, will result in a minimum 10-year revocation.
- Four or more DUI convictions will result in a lifetime revocation.
Under changes in the law effective 1/1/16, a person can apply for driving relief immediately following the entry of an order of revocation or summary suspension for a multiple offender unless the person has received a lifetime revocation (see below). Attorney Larry Davis of The Davis Law Group, P.C. was a co-drafter of this legislation.
Furthermore, persons with lifetime revocations who are Illinois residents cannot apply for driving privileges until five years from the date of the last order of revocation or release from incarceration, whichever occurred later. Persons with a lifetime revocation who are out-of-state residents can apply for reinstatement of their driving privileges 10 years from the date of the last order of revocation (regardless of any period of incarceration)
(Note: Out-of-state DUIs will not count towards the minimum period of revocation unless they are also on your Illinois driving record. However, out-of-state DUIs will count towards a lifetime revocation even if they do not appear on your driving record.)
Also, please remember that these are minimum periods and that a revocation continues indefinitely even after you become eligible for reinstatement until you obtain a favorable decision following a Secretary of State administrative hearing. Furthermore, persons with multiple DUI convictions must drive with a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) for a period of 5 continuous years even if they are otherwise eligible for full reinstatement.How to Get License Reinstated After Multiple Moving Violations or Other Non-DUI Offenses?
Just as in the case of revocation for a DUI, the procedures followed by the Secretary of State are extremely technical and complicated for suspensions and revocations based on other offenses.
The first step is to determine whether there is another solution short of having an administrative hearing. Typically, this will involve your attorney looking at each moving violation conviction that is the basis for the suspension or revocation and determining whether it is possible to reopen the case and have the offense(s) removed from your driving record, which would in turn result in the removal of the suspension or revocation.
In the event that this is not feasible, a hearing will be required. The issue in determining whether relief should be granted is the same as in any other case, that is whether you are a risk to public safety. The Davis Law Group, P.C. is experienced in what is necessary to obtain a favorable decision and will guide you through the exact steps that must be followed.Can I Reinstate My Illinois Driver’s License Online?
You can reinstate a suspended driver's license online in Illinois if your only requirement is the payment of a reinstatement fee. Most reinstatement fees can be conveniently paid through the Secretary of State's website at ilsos.gov.
However, it's important to note that certain suspensions involve additional steps that cannot be completed online. For example, if your suspension requires the completion of a remedial driver’s course, you will need to fulfill this requirement in person.
On the other hand, it's never possible to reinstate a revoked license online. A revoked license is one that has been terminated or indefinitely withdrawn, Driving privileges cannot be fully restored until a certain period of time has passed and, even then, only after a hearing has been held before the Illinois Secretary of State. For example, in the case of a DUI revocation, the driver must first satisfy additional conditions, including an alcohol/drug evaluation, educational classes and/or treatment, and then an administrative hearing conducted by the Illinois Secretary of State.How to Get License Back After Suspension
A suspension is the temporary loss of driving privileges for a specified period of time. At the end of the period of suspension, a person is automatically reinstated upon payment of the required reinstatement fee.
Certain offenses may result in a suspension while more serious offenses may result in a revocation. Examples of offenses that will result in a suspension:
- Three or more minor moving violations within a 12-month period for drivers 21 years of age or older;
- Two or more minor moving violations within a 24-month period for drivers under the age of 21;
- Possession of a driver’s license or ID card belonging to another;
- Fleeing and eluding a police officer;
- Leaving the scene of an accident where property damage exceeds $1,000.00;
- Two convictions for illegal transportation of open liquor within a period of 1 year;
- Violation of driver’s license classification (e.g., operating a motorcycle without proper license classification);
- Possession of a controlled substance, cannabis or methamphetamine while operating or in physical control of a motor vehicle.
Note that certain offenses may result in a revocation rather than a suspension depending on the seriousness of the offense as well as the person’s past driving record. A driver’s license restoration attorney can advise you as to the exact type of sanction you may be facing.What is the Difference Between a Formal and Informal Hearing?
Formal and informal hearings differ in many ways. Formal hearings are only held at four Secretary of State locations across the state: Chicago, Joliet, Springfield, and Mount Vernon. Informal hearings are held at many locations across the state, a majority of which are local Secretary of State Motor Vehicle facilities.
In order to schedule a formal hearing, the driver (also known as the petitioner) must submit a formal hearing request along with a $50.00 filing fee. The petitioner may choose the location of the hearing. The Secretary of State will then schedule a date and time for the hearing to take place. In contrast, informal hearings are held on a walk-in basis.
A formal hearing is similar to a trial. A hearing officer and hearing representative, who advocates on behalf of the Secretary of State, are present in addition to the petitioner and the petitioner's attorney, if any. The hearing begins with the Secretary of State representative and petitioner’s attorney each introducing their own exhibits and the petitioner being put under oath. The petitioner's attorney has an opportunity to present their case by asking questions relating to the petitioner's driving record, details of the arrests, alcohol/drug use history (if relevant), and all other pertinent information. The Secretary of State hearing representative then has the opportunity to cross-examine the petitioner. The hearing officer may then also choose to question the petitioner.
At an informal hearing, a Secretary of State representative is not present. Instead, it is a hearing officer, petitioner, and the petitioner's attorney. At an informal hearing, the hearing officer asks all of the questions.
At both types of hearings, formal and informal, the hearing officer makes a recommendation, which is then reviewed before a final decision is rendered.How Do I Prove That I Am Not a Risk to Public Safety?
During a driver's license hearing, the Secretary of State’s office considers several factors in the case of a DUI offender in determining if he or she is a risk. For example, the State will consider an alcohol/drug evaluation and any treatment documentation completed by a State-licensed program, character reference letters, and in some circumstances support group letters, as well as testimony before a Secretary of State hearing officer.
The evaluation and testimony will address issues such as the facts and circumstances of DUI arrest(s) including the reason why the driver was stopped, how much alcohol or drugs were consumed, the driver’s perception of intoxication, the results of any alcohol/drug breath, blood or urine test(s), prior alcohol/drug use history, the reasons for alcohol or drug use in the past, whether treatment adequately addressed any underlying reasons for alcohol and/or drug abuse, the lifestyle changes that have been made (if any), any support group involvement such as AA, NA or non-traditional support group, and other prior driving or alcohol/drug-related offenses.
Other factors may also be considered in alcohol/drug and non-substance abuse cases such as criminal history, overall driving record including previous moving violations, accidents, etc.What are the Different Risk Classifications?
Individuals must be placed within one of the five risk classifications that the Division of Substance Use Prevention and Recovery (SUPR) of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHS) has created before applying for a driving permit or license reinstatement through the Illinois Secretary of State. The different classifications generally defined are as follows:Minimal Risk
The only individuals who can be classified as Minimal Risk are those who have no prior conviction or court-ordered supervision for DUI, no prior statutory summary suspension, and no prior reckless driving conviction reduced from DUI. Also, the individual must have submitted to testing and had a BAC of less than .15 as a result of the arrest for DUI. Additionally, the individual must have an insufficient number of other symptoms of substance abuse or dependence which would require a higher classification. Individuals classified as Minimal Risk are usually eligible for an informal hearing with the Illinois Secretary of State (with certain exceptions). A minimum of 10 hours of SUPR-approved DUI Risk Education is required. These ten hours must be divided between at least four sessions with each session consisting of two and one-half hours.Moderate Risk
Individuals classified as Moderate Risk must have no prior conviction or court-ordered supervision for DUI, no prior statutory summary suspension, and no prior reckless driving conviction reduced from DUI. The BAC of this individual must be between .15 and .19, inclusive, or a refusal of chemical testing as a result of the arrest for DUI. Also, the individual must have an insufficient number of symptoms of substance abuse or dependence which would require a higher classification. A minimum of ten hours of SUPR-approved DUI Risk Education is required. These ten hours must be divided between at least four sessions with each session consisting of two and one-half hours. In addition, the individual must complete twelve  hours of early intervention.Significant Risk
Individuals with only one DUI but who have a BAC of .20 or higher as a result of the most current DUI arrest; or more than one DUI disposition where the arrests occurred within a ten year period; and/or other sufficient symptoms of substance abuse must be classified at minimum as Significant Risk. Significant Risk individuals must have 20 hours of alcohol and/or drug treatment in addition to any recommended continuing care services. They must also complete 10 hours of SUPR-approved risk education.High-Risk (Dependent or Non-Dependent) High-Risk Dependent
Individuals classified as High-Risk Dependent must have sufficient symptoms to indicate substance dependence regardless of their driving record.
High-Risk Dependent individuals must successfully complete a minimum of 75 hours of dependency treatment and upon completion of any and all necessary treatment and after discharge, have active ongoing participation in all activities specified in the continuing care plan.High-Risk Non-Dependent
High-Risk Non-Dependent individuals are those whose last three DUI dispositions resulting from separate incidents (i.e. any combination of DUI convictions or court-ordered supervisions, prior statutory summary suspensions, or prior reckless driving convictions reduced from DUI) occurred within a 10-year period prior to the date of the most current arrest but are not otherwise dependent on alcohol and/or drugs.
High Risk Non-dependent individuals must successfully complete a minimum of 75 hours of substance abuse treatment and upon completion of any and all necessary treatment and after discharge, have active ongoing participation in all activities specified in the continuing care plan.
* Note that a person who has sufficient symptoms indicating alcohol and/or drug dependency will be placed at a High-Risk Dependent classification even if they would otherwise be eligible for a lower classification based on their arrest history or BAC levels.What Do I Do if I Was Never Required by the Court to Complete Treatment for My DUI or I Was Unable or Failed to Complete Treatment?
Under the rules of the Secretary of State’s office, anyone classified as Significant Risk or High Risk is required to complete certain treatment requirements in order to obtain driving relief. Moderate Risk classified persons are required to complete what is known as an Early Intervention Program.
Many people fail to complete treatment (or early intervention) for a variety of reasons (i.e. the court never required it, financial hardship, or transportation issues). Some individuals completed treatment but no longer have the required treatment documentation and the program they went to no longer has copies or has since closed.
The question then arises, do I have to go to treatment even though it has been years since my DUI arrest? The answer may be no.
Under the Secretary of State rules, a person may be eligible to obtain a treatment waiver (also known as a treatment needs assessment), which will avoid the need to go to treatment (or early intervention). Usually, these are situations where a number of years have passed since the DUI arrest and the person has maintained a non-problematic substance use pattern or abstinence as well as made substantial lifestyle changes. In those cases, the treatment provider may consider a treatment waiver to be appropriate.
Please note that for minimal, moderate, and significant risk persons, the 10-hour risk education requirement cannot be waived.Why Would the Secretary of State Deny Me Driving Relief?
The Secretary of State has adopted technical and complex rules which are used in making the decision to grant or deny driving privileges. Failure to comply with any of these rules may result in a denial of an application. Many of these hearings are adversarial, in other words, contested. At a formal hearing, you are placed under oath and subject to cross-examination by an attorney representing the Secretary of State’s office and also subject to questioning by a hearing officer. You may be denied if your testimony does not satisfy the hearing officer or is inconsistent with the information contained in your alcohol/drug evaluation, treatment documentation and/or with the facts and circumstances of your DUI arrest or your alcohol/drug use history.
You may also be denied even if your testimony is consistent with the alcohol/drug evaluation and other documentation you present to the hearing officer, but the hearing officer believes that the information is not consistent with your arrest history, results of any chemical tests (i.e., breath test, etc.) or other information.
Finally, you could be denied if the hearing officer believes that the information provided at the time of the hearing indicates an ongoing alcohol or drug problem or that you do not demonstrate sufficient hardship.How Long Does it Take to Get a Hearing and a Decision on My Application?
This depends, in part, on what type of hearing you are required to have. The Secretary of State’s rules provide for two types of hearings: formal and informal. If you have more than one statutory summary suspension (for failing or refusing a breath, blood, or urine test) or DUI disposition (including supervision for DUI or a DUI reduced to reckless driving) you must have a formal hearing. You must also have a formal hearing if the offense involved death or if you seek a modification or rescission of your suspension or revocation.
The law provides that the Secretary of State must schedule a formal hearing to be held within 90 days of the request for hearing and the decision must be issued within 90 days of the hearing date. If you are eligible for an informal hearing, you do not need to request a hearing and can simply go to a local Secretary of State facility and have a hearing, without an appointment. There is no time limitation as to when the Secretary of State must issue a decision, however, a decision will generally be issued within 90 days of the hearing. In the case of informal hearings, you can have hearing on a walk-in basis but there is no legal time limit on when the Secretary of State must render a decision.I Had My Formal Hearing and I Am Waiting for a Decision. I Need to Be Able to Drive Now. Can I Get Temporary Driving Privileges?
No. Driving privileges can only be obtained after a successful hearing. Under the law, the Secretary of State has 90 days to issue a decision following a formal hearing. There is no way to expedite the Secretary of State’s decision time based on your particular circumstances, hardship or to apply for an interim driving permit while you are waiting for an answer.After I Am Granted Driving Privileges, How Long Will It Take To Receive My Permit?
If the Secretary of State grants you a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP), they will provide you with a list of requirements that you must complete prior to the issuance of your permit. You should complete all requirements and submit them as quickly as possible. Once all requirements have been submitted to the Secretary of State, it typically takes three to five weeks to receive the actual RDP in the mail. If you are granted full reinstatement, the requirements are not as extensive. For example, you will need to obtain SR-22 insurance and pay your reinstatement fees. In most cases, once these requirements are completed, you can obtain your driver’s license in two to three business days.
Under the law, if granted an RDP, you must complete the requirements within 120 days of the issuance of the hearing order. The requirements to obtain full reinstatement must be completed within 18 months of the hearing order.Will I Need to Take All of the Tests Before My Driver’s License or Driving Permit Will Be Issued?
Yes. Anytime a person’s license has been revoked, the Secretary of State requires that you pass the written, vision and road tests before you can obtain either your Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) or full driver’s license. Usually, if you have already obtained your RDP and are then granted reinstatement, you will still need to take all tests over again.Do I Need to Purchase SR-22 Insurance?
If your license has been revoked, you will need to obtain SR-22 insurance. The Secretary of State requires that you maintain this insurance for a 36-month period. This requirement can be met at any time. You do not need to wait to be granted privileges to obtain SR-22 insurance. You will receive credit towards the 36-month requirement as soon as you begin carrying SR-22.Will I Get My Full License Back or Do I Have to Drive on a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) First?
If you are successful at your hearing, and even if you are eligible to be considered for full reinstatement, under Secretary of State rules, you may first be required to drive on a restricted driving permit (RDP). If you have not passed your eligibility date for reinstatement, you will only be eligible for a RDP to alleviate an undue hardship. There are generally seven (7) types of RDPs: work, medical, support group, child care, elder care, educational. Even if you are eligible for full reinstatement (you have passed your projected eligibility date) you must first drive on a BAIID RDP if you have multiple DUI dispositions from anywhere from one to five years depending on your past driving record.
Furthermore, even if you are eligible for full reinstatement and are not required to have a BAIID the Secretary of State may choose to require that you drive on a RDP as a probationary device.
In those cases where you are otherwise eligible for full reinstatement but must first drive on a RDP for one of the reasons stated above, the permit may be issued to allow you to drive for any reason up to six days per week, twelve hours per day within a 200 mile radius.
Under the rules, you are required to drive on the permit for at least 75% of the time for which it is issued before you can be considered for full reinstatement or further driving privileges provided that you are eligible for full reinstatement and have satisfied any BAIID requirement. Note that after driving successfully on a permit, reinstatement is still not automatic. You must still first have another hearing before the Secretary of State.Will I Have to Have a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device ('BAIID') Installed on My Vehicle?
You must have a BAIID installed on your vehicle as a condition of having a restricted driving permit if any of the following are true:
- You have received any combination of two or more suspensions or revocations which arise out of separate DUI arrests.
- Your revocation is based on Aggravated DUI that resulted in death or serious personal injury.
- You were issued a Monitoring Device Driving Permit and that permit was canceled for any reason, including a cancellation based on a conviction for the underlying DUI.
If you have more than one conviction for DUI, you will need to have a BAIID device installed in every vehicle that is registered in your name and you will be required to drive with a BAIID device for a continuous period of five years.
There are certain limited exemptions to the BAIID requirement which are generally related to persons who drive employer-owned or leased vehicles. The Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device is used to prevent drivers from driving while intoxicated. This device requires that the driver blow into the device before the vehicle can be started. The BAIID also randomly asks for breath samples while the vehicle is in use.
More information on BAIID requirements for RDPs can be found here.How Long Will I Need to Have a BAIID in My Car?
The amount of time you will need to have the BAIID device installed in your vehicle varies. If you have one DUI conviction and a statutory summary suspension arising out of different arrests, you will be required to have the BAIID device installed in your vehicle for one year. If you have two or more convictions for DUI, you will be required to have the BAIID installed in every vehicle that is registered in your name for a continuous period of five years. If you have four or more convictions for DUI (and any arrest that occurred after January 1, 1999), you will need to have the BAIID device installed in all vehicles under your name for the rest of your life provided that you are an Illinois resident.If I Drive a Vehicle Owned or Leased by My Employer, Do I Still Have to Have a BAIID Device Installed?
You can obtain an employment exemption for a vehicle owned or leased by your employer, which will exempt you from the BAIID requirement if the vehicle is not assigned exclusively to you and you do not use the vehicle to commute between home and work or use it for personal purposes.
However, if you have been convicted of two or more DUIs within a five-year period, you cannot apply for the employment exemption until either your driving privileges have been revoked for at least one year or you have been on a Restricted Driving Permit with a BAIID device for at least one year.Can I Put My BAIID in Someone Else’s Car?
Yes. However, if you have more than one DUI conviction and are therefore subject to the five-year BAIID requirement, you must still have the device installed in any vehicles registered in your name.Can Other People Drive the Car With My BAIID?
Yes, but keep in mind that those people will need to use the BAIID in order to start and operate the car. If a violation was detected while someone else was driving your car, you will be required to submit an explanation to the Secretary of State. If you are claiming that it was someone else who committed the violation, the Secretary of State will have the ability to verify who was using the BAIID by checking the camera that is installed with the device.Do I Need to Have a Lawyer Represent Me?
While you have the right to an attorney, you are not required to have one represent you at the hearing. You should, however, hire a lawyer with experience and whose practice is concentrated in this field.
The attorneys at The Davis Law Group, P.C. will not only represent you at the actual hearing but, even more importantly, we will guide you through this entire process from the first time we meet with you.
We will obtain and review your driving record, arrest history, your complete alcohol/drug use history, and (if applicable) obtain and review all of your prior hearing records. We will only agree to represent you if, in our professional opinion, we believe that we can obtain a successful result in your case. If we believe that you will not be successful before the Secretary of State, we will provide you with specific steps to take first.
If we agree to proceed, we will provide you with detailed written instructions as to the specific steps to follow in order to prepare for your hearing. Any questions you have will be answered promptly and accurately. We will review all of your documents prior to your hearing and make certain that they meet Secretary of State requirements. We will directly address any issues or potential problems with your evaluator or treatment provider and make sure they are resolved prior to your hearing.
We will meet with you again, prior to your hearing date to prepare you for your hearing and, of course, be with you at the hearing.How Much Will It Cost to Have an Attorney Represent Me?
At The Davis Law Group, P.C., we are well aware that the cost of legal services is of paramount concern to our clients and we do our best to maintain fees that are fair and reasonable. Generally, and most importantly, the attorneys at The Davis Law Group, P.C. will not accept representation unless we believe there is a strong likelihood of obtaining a favorable decision in a case. While we cannot guarantee a result in any case, we can guarantee you that we will not take any matter before the Secretary of State unless, in our experience, the chances of a favorable outcome justify our involvement.
In those rare cases, where we cannot be of assistance we will provide you with an explanation as to why and what steps, if any, you should take prior to proceeding in order to enhance your ultimate chances of success.
If we believe we can be of assistance to you then fees are based upon the complexity of the case including such factors as the number of DUIs or other alcohol related offenses; seriousness of non-alcohol-related offenses; other criminal history, prior denials of requests for relief, etc. After a full consultation, we will be able to quote you a fee for our legal services prior to proceeding with our representation.If I Have Already Had a Hearing and Been Denied, Can a Lawyer Still Help Me?
Absolutely. As your attorneys, The Davis Law Group, P.C. will obtain all of your prior hearing records and determine what specific issues need to be addressed. We will then ensure these issues are addressed by your evaluator and treatment provider. Then, as in all other cases, we will prepare you for and represent you at your hearing.Where Will My Hearing Be Held?
Where your hearing is held will be determined on a case-by-case basis. Typically, our office conducts Secretary of State hearings at the Chicago and Joliet facilities.
The Chicago facilities are located at:5401 N. Elston AvenueChicago, IL 60630
17 N. State Street12th FloorChicago, IL 60602
The Joliet facility is located at:
54 N. Ottawa Street4th FloorJoliet, IL 60436Speak to a Chicago License Reinstatement Lawyer
Losing your driver’s license is a serious matter. If your license has been revoked, suspended, or canceled, working with a top-rated Illinois license reinstatement lawyer can help you with challenging the grounds for the action or complying with all requirements for reinstatement.
The Davis Law Group, P.C. has a team of skilled attorneys, many of whom have written and lectured extensively on driver’s license law. To schedule a free initial consultation, please call (847) 807-1169 or contact us online. We look forward to helping you regain your driving privileges.