What is a Class A Misdemeanor in Illinois?
Under Illinois law, a Class A misdemeanor is a criminal offense, which carries the most severe penalties of all misdemeanor offenses. If you are charged with a Class A misdemeanor, the maximum potential penalties include up to 364 days in jail, a fine of up to $2,500.00 in addition to mandatory court assessments. Other possible sentences include up to two years of court supervision, conditional discharge or probation. Sentencing guidelines for Class A misdemeanors can be found under Illinois statute 730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-55.
Some of the most common Class A misdemeanors are listed below. Many of these offenses can also be charged as felony offenses if certain ‘aggravating factors’ are present. Aggravating factors vary depending on the offense charged and can include such things as your prior criminal history, severity of harm to a victim as well as the age of the victim.
A conviction for any criminal offense, including a misdemeanor, can have a negative lasting impact on your personal and professional life. Securing experienced and knowledgeable legal representation can help you avoid serious consequences and minimize or eliminate the potential impact on your future. Our top-rated criminal defense attorneys have years of experience defending the rights of those charged with various criminal offenses throughout Illinois.
Avoiding a criminal conviction on your record and obtaining the best possible result for your case is our priority. If you have been charged with a Class A misdemeanor or any criminal offense, contact the criminal defense lawyers at The Davis Law Group, P.C. by calling us at (847) 390-8500 or reach out to us through our contact page. Our criminal defense attorneys practice throughout the Chicago area including Cook County, Lake County and DuPage County.