Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License
The defense attorneys at The Davis Law Group, P.C. frequently represent clients charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license (DWLS) in the Chicago area and throughout Illinois.
Many people assume incorrectly that driving on a suspended or revoked license is similar to any other petty traffic offense. In reality, driving on a suspended or revoked license is a criminal offense and can result in serious consequences. This offense is typically charged under 625 ILCS 5/6-303 of the Illinois Vehicle Code as a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum of 364 days in jail and $2,500.00 fine plus mandatory court assessments.
Under certain circumstances, driving on suspended or revoked may be charged as a felony with more severe penalties. If your license was suspended or revoked for DUI, a first conviction of driving on a suspended or revoked license carries a minimum penalty of 10 days in jail or 30 days (240 hours) of community service.
A second violation for driving on a license that was suspended or revoked for driving under the influence can be charged as a Class 4 felony. A conviction for a second offense carries a potential sentence of 1-3 in the Illinois Department of Corrections and a fine not to exceed $25,000. The mandatory minimum punishment for a second offense requires 30 days in jail or 300 hours of community service.
Driving without a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) that has been issued to you, driving on a license that was revoked for reckless homicide, and multiple violations of this law all carry additional penalties.
Additional Driver's License Consequences
If you are convicted of driving on a suspended license, the Secretary of State will extend your license suspension for the same length of time as your original suspension. If your suspension has already expired, the Secretary of State will re-suspend your driving privileges for the same length of time as your original suspension.
If you are convicted of driving on a revoked license, the Secretary of State will not consider the reinstatement of your driver's license for at least one year from the date of conviction.
We Are Here to Help
Our attorneys have decades of experience providing high-quality criminal defense and driver's license reinstatement services in the Chicago area and throughout Illinois. Our driver's license reinstatement attorneys can review your Illinois Secretary of State driving record to determine the best course of action.
If possible, we can assist in clearing the suspension or revocation prior to appearing in court on a driving on suspended or revoked license charge. At a minimum, reinstating your driving privileges can be used as mitigation in court, resulting in a more favorable resolution of your case. In some instances, walking into court with a clear license may even result in a full dismissal of your case. However, only certain types of suspension or revocations can be cleared while your case is open. It is important to understand that you are not eligible for an administrative hearing with the Secretary of State if you have a case pending in court. The pending case must be resolved first before you can be considered for reinstatement through a driver's license hearing.
The defense lawyers at The Davis Law Group, P.C. represent clients charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license throughout Illinois, including Cook County, Lake County, and DuPage County. Our office will aggressively work to completely avoid or lessen the negative impact these serious charges may have on your life and driving privileges. By clearing your suspension prior to court, negotiating a favorable plea disposition, or taking your case to trial, our attorneys will provide you with experienced and professional representation.
Contact Us Today
We are a full service law firm with the ability to advise you on a wide range of Illinois license suspensions and revocations. Our traffic attorneys and driver's license attorneys have helped thousands of clients throughout Illinois. Contact us today if you have been charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license.