The Illinois Secretary of State uses a unique system to determine driver’s license suspensions and revocations based on the number of moving violations and a point system. A driver 21 years of age or older will have their license suspended if they receive three moving violation convictions within a 12 months period, while a driver under the age of 21 will have their license suspended if they receive two moving violation convictions within a twenty-four month period.
Every moving violation is assigned a specific number of points. Once a driver reaches the number of convictions outlined above, the Secretary of State will use the total number of points accumulated to determine the duration of suspension or revocation.
For those 21 or older, if you have three convictions for traffic violations within a 12-month period your Illinois driver’s license will be suspended as follows:
· 0 to 14 points ― no action
· 15 to 44 points ― 2-month suspension
· 45 to 74 points ― 3-month suspension
· 75 to 89 points ― 6-month suspension
· 90 to 99 points ― 9-month suspension
· 100 to 109 ― 12-month suspension
· 110 or more points ― Revocation
For those under 21, if you have two convictions for traffic violations within a 24-month period, your Illinois driver’s license will be suspended as follows:
· 0 to 9 points ― no action
· 10 to 34 points ― 1-month suspension
· 35 to 49 points ― 3-month suspension
· 50 to 64 points ― 6-month suspension
· 65 to 79 points ― 12-month suspension
· 79 or more points ― Revocation
*These lengths of suspension are increased if the driver has a prior suspension or revocation within a seven-year period.
Points associated with some of the most common moving violations:
- 1-10 MPH above limit – 5 points
- 11-14 MPH above limit – 15 points
- 15-25 MPH above limit – 20 points
- 25 MPH above limit – 50 points
- 26-34 MPH – 50 points
- 35+ MPH above limit – 50 points
· Speeding too fast for conditions or failure to reduce speed to avoid an accident – 10 points
· Disregarding official traffic control device or light – 20 points
· Failure to obey stop sign – 20 points
· Exceeding the maximum speed limit in a school zone – 20 points
· Exceeding the maximum speed limit through a highway construction or maintenance zone – 20 points
· Improper passing – 20 points
· Improper lane usage – 20 points
· Using an electronic communications device (2nd violation) – 20 points
· Illegal transportation, of any alcoholic liquor within the passenger area of any motor vehicle – 25 points
· Following too closely – 25 points
· Passing school bus receiving or discharging children – 25 points
· Reckless driving – 55 points
If your Illinois license is suspended or revoked, the Secretary of State will mail you a notice of suspension or notice of revocation to the address listed on your driver’s license. The notice should indicate the offenses causing the suspension or revocation as well as the effective date of the action taken by the Secretary of State. Notices of suspension will include an end date. Notices of revocation are for a minimum period of one year and will not terminate until the driver completes the hearing process through the Secretary of State.
The Illinois traffic violation point system and it’s consequences is often complex. If your license is suspended or revoked, feel free to contact the driver’s license attorneys at The Davis Law Group, P.C. to review your record. From a complete removal of your suspension or revocation, to application for a restricted driving permit (i.e. work permit), we can help explain your options. Contact us today to discuss your case.