What is a Class C Misdemeanor in Illinois?

Under Illinois law, there are three classes of misdemeanor offenses: A, B, and C. Class A misdemeanor penalties are the most severe, while Class C misdemeanors carry lesser potential penalties.

A Class C misdemeanor in Illinois carries a maximum penalty of up to 30 days in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,500 plus any mandatory court costs. The defendant may be placed on a period of court supervision, conditional discharge or probation for up to 2-years. Specific sentencing guidelines for Class C misdemeanors can be found under Illinois law 730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-65.

Two of the most common Class C misdemeanors are Disorderly Conduct and Assault.

While it is true that a Class C misdemeanor is the least severe misdemeanor charge, it is important to remember that it still IS a criminal offense. If you are charged with and found guilty of a Class C misdemeanor, you still face serious consequences, including a criminal record. A criminal record can have an impact on your future, including employment.

All criminal cases must be approached strategically and your rights must be protected. Avoiding a criminal conviction and minimizing the consequences on your personal and professional life is always a top priority. If you are charged with a criminal offense, professional legal representation is strongly encouraged to ensure the best possible result.

If you have been charged with a misdemeanor or felony criminal offense, contact the criminal defense attorneys at The Davis Law Group, P.C. by calling (847) 390-8500 or get in touch with us via our contact page. Our attorneys practice throughout the Chicagoland area including Cook County, Lake County and DuPage County.

Main Office

View Larger Map

Chicago Office

View Larger Map